Mix 106.5

Mix 106.5

Tuesday, October 22, 2019

Justin Trudeau's Liberals Win Minority

Canada | by Bayshore News Staff  

2019 Federal Election results brought to you by The Terri Hastings Real Estate Group, Keller Williams Realty Centres.

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and the Liberals have secured re-election, but have lost their majority mandate.

Canada's 43rd Parliament will be a minority as the Trudeau Liberals look set to finish with 157 seats with over 99 per cent of polls reporting. 

Andrew Scheer’s Conservatives won 121 seats and actually took the popular vote nationwide. Over 6.1-million Canadians casted ballots for the Tories -- more than 200,000 votes clear of the Trudeau Liberals overall.

Rounding out the national seat projections with nearly all polls reporting -- the Bloc Quebecois and New Democrats both hold enough ridings to be the balance of power in Canada's new minority parliament. The Bloc finished with 32 seats and the NDP will have 24.

Elizabeth May and the Green Party won three seats.

The newly formed People's Party of Canada was shut out. Maxime Bernier failed to win his own seat in the Quebec riding of Beauce.

Independent Jody Wilson Raybould, the former attorney general ousted from the Liberals as part of the fallout from the SNC Lavalin affair, won her riding in Vancouver Granville.

NATIONAL RESULTS (number of seats leading and elected with 99% of polls reporting)

Conservative - Andrew Scheer - 122

Liberal - Justin Trudeau - 156 (re-elected)

New Democratic Party - Jagmeet Singh - 24

Green Party - Elizabeth May - 3

People's Party of Canada - Maxime Bernier - 0

Bloc Quebecois - Yves-Francois Blanchet - 32

Independent - Jody Wilson-Raybould - 1


In the riding of Parry Sound Muskoka, Conservative Scott Aitchison won with 41.9 percent of the votes

share this story

Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation
© 2020 Bayshore Broadcasting Corporation

Web Site by Websmart Inc